Can I say that it has been a long month?

It’s been a long month.

Too long.

I feel like I haven’t had time for anything.

Honestly, makes me feel like a mad woman.

My moments in the kitchen have been pretty sparse. I haven’t baked since my last post and it feels weird.

I’ve never had whoopie pies. They looked enticing, but besides the pictures, I didn’t know exactly what they are.

Now I do, and oh man, are they goood.

It’s like a cake, in cookie form, on crack, smushed into a sandwich, filled with yummy-goodness.

Make sense?

No?

Well then, please, try these.

I  slightly adapted the original whoopie pie recipe only because I felt the lemon flavor needed to be stronger. Since the ganache was so rich, it overpowered the lemon using the original recipe.

Lemon Dark Chocolate Whoopie Pies

Adapted from Mowielicious and Joy the Baker

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 t baking powder

1/4 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

1 stick of unsalted butter, room temp

1 cup sugar

1 T lemon zest

1 egg

1 t vanilla extract

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 T lemon juice

– Oven 350F. Position rack in the middle of the oven.

– Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together. Set aside.

– Cream butter, sugar, and lemon zest together.

– Add egg, lemon juice, and vanilla. Mix to incorporate.

– Add half of flour mixture. Add buttermilk. Then add the rest of the flour mixture. Mix until all is incorporated (don’t go crazy mixing).

You can pipe the dough out (which is what I did) or you can take a large ice cream scoop and evenly scoop the dough. Bake for 10-12 minutes, depending on the sizes of your cookies.

Chocolate Ganache

What I did (after having one failed attempt) was eye-ball my ganache. It has always worked for me. I originally used the recipe from Mowielicious, but the ganache turned out runny (hence the dripping chocolate on top). I’ll list roughly my recipe, which I used for the filling, and I hope that it works for you.

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

1 cup dark chocolate

2 T butter.

– Heat cream on medium heat until just boiling. Remove from heat. Add butter, stirring until butter is melted. Add chocolate, whisking constantly until smooth. Let cool.

Optional: Top with crumbled pistachios.

