I’m not a huge fan of cupcakes.

Why? You might ask.

Well, I like portions. Huge portions. When I eat cake, I want a huge hunk-a cake on my plate so I can stuff my face with it.

This is also the reason why I don’t like Cake Pops. I’d eat fifty of those things, still not be full, and feel completely diabetic and obese.

What I do like about cupcakes is how creative you can be with them. They are fun to decorate. And they look cute.

I’m a chocolate person, but when I made these particular cupcakes, I fell in love. They’re amazing. A light vanilla cake, drenched in orange glaze, and topped with strawberry frosting.

Come on, what more could you ask for?

These aren’t too sweet, nor too fruity, nor too lacking in flavor. For a chocoholic like me, they completely satisfied my cravings and left me wanting more.

The strawberry-orange combination was something I had been thinking about for sometime, and it turned out great. I’ll definitely have to try it out on a cake sometime. It is wonderfully refreshing, and in my opinion, the perfect dessert to end the summer season.

Strawberry-Orange Cupcakes

(Makes about 24-30 cupcakes)

Vanilla Cake

(This is a classic cake recipe. Usually called the “1234 Cake”, if you Google it, you’ll find various sources.)

2 sticks unsalted butter, room temp.

2 cups of sugar.

4 eggs.

3 cups of self-rising flour

1 cup of milk

1 t vanilla extract.

– Oven 350F.

-Cream butter until fluffy. Add sugar and continue to cream for 5 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

– Alternatively, add the flour and milk, beginning and ending with flour.

-Bake for 15 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Strawberry Frosting

Adapted from Martha Stewart

2 cups sugar

8 egg whites

3 sticks unsalted butter, room temp.

1/2 cup strawberry puree.

1 t vanilla.

-Place sugar and eggs in a bowl over simmering water. Whisk until sugar is dissolved and candy thermometer reads 160F. Remove from heat and beat on high until stiff peaks form. It is important that the mixture has cooled before you add the butter. The bottom of the bowl should be cool to touch. Once stiff peaks have formed (and mixture has cooled), add butter one tablespoon at a time. The mixture will start to curdle and look a hot mess. Do not worry: it will come together. Just keep mixing.

Orange Glaze

Zest of one orange.

1/4 cup of orange juice.

1 1/2- 2 cups of confectioners sugar.

-This recipe is really all about personal taste. If you like really tangy glaze, then add more zest and juice. If you want it sweeter, add more sugar. If glaze looks too runny, add more sugar. If too thick, add more juice or water.

